Tags

, ,

A article came to my attention from eCig Advanced about the recent Chicago Vape Bash 3

Vapers Don’t Always Make Vaping Look Good — Thoughts On VapeBash Chicago 2014

I added my thoughts, which I have included here as well. I’ve said it before, and I repeat it here again: The battle is not yet won, and some common courtesy can go a long way.

“As an attendant of Vape Bash 3, I was both annoyed and angered by the Hotel and the Vape Minority that brought the restrictions down on us. I found vaping after years of trying to quit smoking, and am thankful for the freedom from smoking it has given me.

First and foremost, Vaping is the solution to smoking for me, not a hobby, not a gimmick, and not a way to show-off my “mad vaping skillz”.

I blogged about the topic of Vaping Etiquette a year ago. https://shoequeenvapes.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/may-i-please-and-thank-you-etiquette-in-vaping/
And I later discovered that a few forums blasted me on the subject matter.

What saddens me is that it seems that most folks have forgotten the history of smoking… How you USED TO be able to smoke anywhere. And then suddenly you couldn’t smoke in hospitals, or stores, then restaurants, or bars, or less than 20 feet from the entrance of a private establishment…

“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it,” is a phrase that the Vaping community would be wise to remember.

Unfortunately it appears that the “F.U. Generation” ideology has come into play. “I’ll do what I WANT!” being their mantra.

Sure you will… Until they tell you you can’t Vape in hospitals, or stores, then restaurants, or bars, or less than 20 feet from the entrance of a private establishment.

We have an opportunity to gain acceptance of Vaping everywhere. But it won’t be gained by blowing huge clouds into the face of our opposition. Courtesy may be an old-fashioned and antiquated idea, but it may also be the only way to gain acceptance.

I only hope Vaping can survive the Vapers that think the rights have already been won, whilst we still labor for acceptance.”

